Lutterworth College

Lutterworth College

Lutterworth College Twitter Lutterworth College Facebook Lutterworth College
 Youtube Lutterworth College
 Instagram
Life at Lutterworth College Life at Lutterworth College Life at Lutterworth College Life at Lutterworth College

Science & Technology

A Welcome from Head of Faculty (Science & Technology), Miss Kelly Baker.

 

The science and Technology department is passionate about teaching and learning. We collectively form a vibrant and dynamic team. We set ourselves the very highest standards and commit to ‘going the extra mile’ to ensure pupils enjoy their lessons and make outstanding progress.

Our values are aligned with those of The Lutterworth Academies Trust. They represent what is important to us as a school and symbolises what we stand for:

  • High aspirations for all
  • Committed to best practice, working collaboratively, learning from mistakes
  • Focussed on the individual
  • Inclusive, leaving no one behind
  • Everything geared to teaching and learning
  • Committed to shared values, including our Christian Ethos.
  • Celebrating success, having pride in all that we do
  • Broadeducation, giving opportunity for human flourishing
  • Working closely with all stakeholders
  • Connected with the community, encouraging social responsibility

Aims

Our aims are aligned with those of The Lutterworth Academies Trust. They represent what we want to achieve as a school community:

  • Strategic leadership, with a passionately-articulated shared vision.
  • High quality teachers delivering outstanding teaching in all subjects
  • Multiple learning pathways to meet the needs of every student.
  • Physical environments fit for purpose, safe and accessible for all.
  • Aspirational culture and behavior to encourage great learning.
  • One to one support and target setting to ensure that students are able to access the support needed to reach their aspirations

 

Faculty staff list and contact details: (names, positions and email / contacts)

Miss Kelly Baker

Head of Faculty and teacher of Chemistry

K.Baker@lutterworthcollege.com

Miss Ciara Pinnington

Deputy Head of Faculty and teacher of Product Design

C.Pinnington@lutterworthcollege.com

Mrs Rachel Wright

Teacher Of Chemistry

R.Wright@lutterworthcollege.com

Mrs Diljit Hardy

Teacher Of Chemistry

D.Hardy@lutterworthcollege.com

Mrs Helen Scutt

Teacher of Biology

H.Scutt@lutterworthcollege.com

Miss Helen Webb

Teacher of Biology

H.Webb@lutterworthcollege.com

Mrs Arch Sunman

Teacher of Biology

A.Sunman@lutterworthcollege.com

Dr Simon Cox

Teacher of Biology

S.Cox@lutterworthcollege.com

Mrs Emma Moorley

Teacher of Biology

E.Moorley@lutterworthcollege.com

Mr Gerry Mallaghan

Teacher of Biology

G.Mallaghan@lutterworthcollege.com

Mrs Michelle White

Teacher of Biology

M.White@lutterworthcollege.com

Miss Abigail Alexander

Teacher of Biology

A.Alexander@lutterworthcollege.com

Mrs Gillian Hancock

Teacher of Biology

G.Hancock@lutterworthcollege.com

Miss Alex Hargreaves

Teacher of Biology

A.Hargreaves@lutterworthcollege.com

Mr Neil Carter

Teacher of Physics

N.Carter@lutterworthcollege.com

Mrs Emily Coulson

Teacher of Physics AST

E.Coulson@lutterworthcollege.com

Mrs K Chisholm

HLTA and Teacher of Science

K.Chisholm@lutterworthcollege.com

Mrs Amanda Farrah

HTLA and Teacher of Technology

A.Farrah@lutterworthcollege.com

Mrs Sharon Baxter

Teacher of technology

S.Baxter@lutterworthcollege.com

Mrs Liz Thornton

Teacher of technology

L.Thornton@lutterworthcollege.com

Miss Ciara Pinnington

Teacher of technology

C.Pinnington@lutterworthcollege.com

 

Miss Megan Skinner

Teacher of Technology

M.Skinner@lutterworthcollege.com

Mrs M Hadley

Teacher of technology

M.Hadley@lutterworthcollege.com

Recent results in Sceinec & Technology: 

The faculty has had outstanding results across KS4 and 5 

A Level

Biology

83.% A*-C

 

 

Chemistry

75% A*-C

 

 

Physics

82.% A*-C

 

 

Food Technology

67% A*-C

 

 

Textiles

75%  A*-C

 

 

Product Design

88% A*-C

 

GCSE

Biology

97% A*-C with 51% of students gaining A or A* Grade

 

 

Chemistry

100% A*-C with 37% of students gaining A or A* Grade

 

 

Physics

95% A*-C with 41% of students gaining A or A* Grade

 

 

Science

78% A*-C with 18% of students gaining A or A* Grade

 

 

Food Technology

66% A*-C with 22% of students gaining A or A* Grade

 

 

Textiles

92% A*-C with 42% of students gaining A or A* Grade

 

 

Extra-curricular activities in Science & Technology: 

Stem club, Crest awards, and lunch time drop in sessions, Afterschool Course work support, trips into industry and universities.

Student leadership opportunities:

Stem ambassador awards, volunteering

Equipment & resources:

State of the art laboratories with dedicated technician support

Follow us on social media:

Twitter@Luttcollscience